Geek Chic

Another Pecha Kucha v3 speaker was Carljoe Javier whom I hadn’t had the pleasure of hearing about before Thursday night. See, this is why I love Pecha Kucha! Hehe. When his name was called, a lot of people cheered him on. I felt a little jealous of the people who knew him when I learned that he was a writer and when I saw his awesome book covers on the screen.

His first book, And The Geek Shall Inherit The Earth:

Carljoe’s short essays in his first book cover diverse topics like being a certified geek with eyeglasses, the panties of celebrities, the dilemma of peeing, teaching at a school for girls, playing with an edgy rock band, and joining a local reality TV show.

Don’t you just love the cover design by Electrolychee? His soon to be released book, The Kobayashi Maru of Love, was written “after he was dumped by his girlfriend” he said this with such nonchalance it was hahahaha and then awwww for me.

The Kobayashi Maru of Love

I got this image of his upcoming book sleeve from his blog, the updated version has the title on the spine (straight down the middle of this image), cover design by Adam David.

He talked about how he could never have done a book cover like this if he stuck with a publisher. This is why he decided to publish his own books! Hats off to you, Mr. Javier, for being so brave! I wanted to buy your book except I couldn’t find you after the event. I went on nationalbookstore.com.ph but couldn’t find it there either😦 I’m going to have to check bookstores later.

About Saab Magalona

I like plastic balloons, polly pockets, cheap cake and spooky couches.
This entry was posted in Art, Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Geek Chic

  1. miko says:

    hi! i bought his book and i really liked it! he’s so witty, honest and funny. try checking powerbooks or fully booked. it costs around P150 or P200. two thumbs up also for his cool book cover. i hope he’ll come up with another book🙂

  2. Carl Javier says:

    hi saab,

    hope you don’t mind the intrusion on your blog. I’m very flattered that you liked my talk and that you took the time to write about it and help promote my work. I can’t thank you enough, because really, even just the smallest of mentions goes a long way in promoting our local literature.

    Sorry I also ran out of copies at the event (had only what I could fit into my bag) but I’d like to invite you and anyone else you might want to bring along to the book launch tomorrow, specs here: http://www.facebook.com/carljoe?v=app_2344061033#!/event.php?eid=110307625691872&index=1

    and if you can’t make it I’ll figure out ways so you can get a copy. (Part of the challenges indies have to face is the difficulties of distribution.) Once again, thanks for taking the time to write about me and respond. Yay to Pinoy Lit and the people who show it love🙂

Leave a Reply

